Why I’m a ChiChi!

Walking in the Komen 3-Day is something I never really thought of until this year. I remember hearing the commercials on the radio and seeing the commercials on the TV.  One day I ran up to Walmart and saw Kristin and other ChiChis walking in the park. I must have been gone for about 2 hours. When I drove home, they were still walking! I thought to myself, “They are friggin’ nuts!”  Well, it wasn’t until later that I learned why they were walking. Kristin asked me to join, but knowing how much time it would take, I respectfully declined. Her offer stuck in my mind all day and all night for atleast a week! I talked to my husband about the committment it would take and he graciously offered his support. You see, without his support there is NO way I could do this! Thank you Doug!

Now, this is why I’m a ChiChi. Although my Mom lost a very courageous battle on July 23, 2009 to Lung Cancer, I’m walking for all of the daughters who have lost their mothers to Breast Cancer. Losing your mother/best friend/wife to your father/and MawMaw to your children is so painful and heartbreaking! There are some days I’m still in a fog about it. However, training for the 3-Day has helped me grieve in so many ways. I have met some pretty neat women that I hope to remain friends with after we take this amazing journey together.

I love you all! -Gina

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin Shirley
    May 05, 2010 @ 22:04:07

    We love you too, Gina! I am so glad you joined our team. You are a very positive and help inspire the others on a daily basis. Plus you are super awesome at getting in-kind donations!!!

    Reply

  2. chichimamas10
    May 09, 2010 @ 13:33:39

    We love you too!! I’m so glad to have gotten to know you through this experience! We are truly blessed to have you as a part of our team!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
