The Starting Point…

I decided that since I started the blog for our team, that it would only fit for me to blog first.  The moment I made the choice to do this walk, is the moment I chose life.  Life for those currently fighting cancer, those who have previously fought and lost, for those who previously fought and won,  and those who may have to fight in the future.  I chose to walk, so that one day no one will have to walk.  So that my sons and  daughter may never have to know what an ugly disease cancer truly is.  Cancer is a disease that knows no boundaries, whether it be breast cancer, colon cancer, leukemia, or neuroblastoma.  It does not care if we are rich, poor, middle class, or any other.  It doesn’t care if we are black, white, hispanic, native american, or greek. 

When I started this journey and made the choice to start a team, I truly had no idea what to expect.  If you had told me then that we would currently be a team of 11, I may not have believed you!  I’m definitely a determined and motivated person, but to see the friends and strangers that have joined and rallied together, is truly amazing!  I have met some great women out of this experience, and it’s still the beginning!  I already feel bonded to these women in a way that I can’t describe.  The support, the motivation, the caring , and the anything you need attitudes are what make this team so great!!  To see everything that all of these women are willing to do for each other is amazing!  We are embarking on a journey unlike any other, and it will be an experience unlike any other.

I believe that the Chi Chi Mamas can do anything!! My goal at this point for team members is 16, because with the motivation and determination we all have, it is truly possible!  We have several large fundraisers coming up, and I know that everyone is stretched thin.  Just remember when it gets to the point of being too much, just ask your fellow Chi Chi Mama for some assistance!

Until next time…

Kristina

Chi Chi Mamas Co-Captain

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marcia Werner
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 00:34:19

    Beautifully said, Kristina.

    Reply

  2. Kristin Shirley
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 16:40:57

    Kristina,
    Thank you so much for starting this blog. I am going to enjoy writing about this experience as well as hearing about it through the eyes of our other team members.
    Kristin

    Reply

Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
